Ok, what types of chicks do I have? **LOTS of pics!**

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by mrstillery09, Mar 12, 2012.

1. mrstillery09

mrstillery09 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 9, 2012
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Ok, these chicks are about a week old? Maybe older. They were all fluff when we got them last Saturday and are literally growing like weeds! I picked out 6 assorted layers, and 4 straight run barred rock. Now that they are getting bigger, I don't think I have 4 barred rocks, and I'm interested in knowing what they may be! This is my first time owning chicks, so I'm fairly inexperienced.

Chick A
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I had thought barred rock, but it has different those long front white wings, and only a dark wash on it's legs unlike the ones below.

Chick B
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

This one I'm thinking is barred rock, only a black wash on front of it's legs, and wings are more stripe-y.

Chick C
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

This lovey lady was in the assorted pullets. They were also selling production reds, but she doesn't really look like any production reds I've seen. So I was just curious.

Chick D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The legs started with a wash, but now are definitely turning dark. Also no stripe-y patterns, like the ones I assume are barred rocks.

Chick E
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Kind of like the one above, legs are turning dark as well.

Chick F
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG].

Black wash on legs, but not black legs like others and has more of a stripe-y wing pattern.

Chick G
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

This chick was the only one who acted playful while I took picture. I'd like to think this little is a rooster but time will tell! s you can see stripe-y pattern tot eh wings and slight dark wash on legs.

Thanks for looking at my pictures, and I can't wait to hear what you think!

2. chickenmaniac

chickenmaniac Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2012
    Arizona
    [​IMG]
    picture of my barred rock hen she is about 1 month and 2 weeks old