Ok, you bunch of enablers! Now what?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Pumpkinpup, Jan 6, 2009.

1. Pumpkinpup

Pumpkinpup Poultry Princess

Jul 16, 2008
    North-West Georgia
    You guys are SOOOO bad for me! I have finally given in to the evil plot of the Silkies! [​IMG] I have 8 chicks about 6 weeks old. How old do they have to be before I can tell what sex they are? I am clueless. [​IMG]
    You have wrought this upon me, so, NOW tell me dark secrets of the Silkies!

[​IMG] I'm new to all this evil plotting and stuff [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 6, 2009
  2. WestKnollAmy

WestKnollAmy The Crazy Chicken Lady Premium Member

Apr 22, 2008
    upstate SC
    I think mine were about 12 weeks old before I could tell which was the girls and who was the boys. The boys get streamers from the back of their heads like long feathers or extra fluff. The girls get much more puffy head dresses. But it could be the bloodlines, also. I am not sure if it works on all Silkies.
    It was also easy to tell when they fluffed up their hackles and went at each other acting like they were so tough![​IMG]

3. Pumpkinpup

Jul 16, 2008
    North-West Georgia
    Oh boy! I may have mostly males then [​IMG] They cavort about all fluffed out and sizing each other up! It's a riot to watch them.

All I wanted were some hens for broodies [​IMG] RATS!

4. mudderhen

mudderhen Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2008
    Clarkesville, GA
    Missouri chick may be able to help you out. She has just hatched 2 batches of silkies, and she has some adults also. She may be willing to swap a few girls for some eggs? I can't speak for her, but I would ask. [​IMG]
    She has been bitten by the silkie bug, too. [​IMG]

Edited to add: Chicks, males and females will do the sizing each other up kinda thing to see who is who in the pecking order...

5. Chickie Mamma

Chickie Mamma Farmer at Heart

Apr 20, 2008
    Sherman, CT