Okay, bought a turkey poult

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by rockhound, May 27, 2008.

1. rockhound

rockhound Out Of The Brooder

Apr 9, 2008
    Maine
    This is my first time posting, so here goes. We got our 12 baby chicks last Wednesday, which are all happy and healthy living in a rubbermaid tote for the moment. We were at the hardware store buying some more wood for the chicken coop and surprise! A brooder full of turkey poults. I can do things on a bit of an impulse so we got a bbb turkey. We put him in with the chickens and he has his own feeder so we can feed him turkey crumbles. They are all getting along fine. I've been reading everyones posts and I guess at this point I'm taking my chances on the whole blackhead disease thing. Our set up WILL be an 8X8 coop (which finally has four walls and a roof now) with a 12X12 run. Where does the turkey fit into all this?

2. ronshoney

ronshoney Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2007
    Algonac, Michigan
    Are you going to eat him? What are your plans for him?

3. Wolf-Kim

Wolf-Kim Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2008
    [​IMG]

Most of the people I know, keep their turkeys with their chickens. I was told that my turkey would actually do much, MUCH better if I raised him with the chickens.

I wanted to quarantine him at first, but he just sat in his box and wouldn't eat or drink. I began to really worry about him, so I emailed the people I got him from asking what was wrong. He hadn't eaten or drank all day. Turns out they thought he was lonely and told me to put a chick with him or to put him with the chicks. I put one little chick in there for him(didn't want to risk the whole bunch) and that little poult immediately(!) ate and drank like there was no tomorrow. LOL Guess he was lonely..

I do not know about the space question. I guess just look up or ask how much room one turkey takes and then add it the amount 12 chickens need and whether you plan on free-ranging or not.

-Kim

4. chickenannie