Okay, I found a place to buy a goat....

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by miss_thenorth, Apr 24, 2008.

1. miss_thenorth

miss_thenorth Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 28, 2007
    SW Ont, Canada
    They sell Nubians for dairy goats. I have to get her bred myself. Is $100 a reasonable price? the breeder will teach me how to milk.

2. greyfields

greyfields Overrun With Chickens

Mar 15, 2007
    Washington State
    Heck yeah. You can expect to pay $300+ for a good doe typically.

3. miss_thenorth

Dec 28, 2007
    SW Ont, Canada
    Greyfields, ---what do I look for in a good doe? I'm new to the goat thing. Excited, but new.

ETA, I am going to a livestock sale w/ sil to compare prices. Will probably go to look at this goat next week sometime.

Last edited: Apr 24, 2008
  4. helmstead

helmstead Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2007
    Alfordsville, IN
    Provided everything looks good - that's a great deal. Good luck!

Be careful at an auction. You don't have ample time there to check for healthy goats, and often people make purchases emotionally and get home with remorse.

5. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    For a pure nubian that is a fair price. If the goat in question is not full blooded nubian I wouldn't pay $100 for it. If it is a cross what is it crossed with? Look at the sire and dam if they are on site. Crosses that are not bred sell for $50 - $75 (if with kid) around here.

You should also ask a lot of questions. How old is the goat? If over 1 years -Has she ever been bred? Did she live kid? How has she been handled? If she is over a year why has she not been bred?

Then there is the most important part. Has she ever been milked? Get him to put her up on the milking stand and see how she reacts. If she kicks and fights when her udders are touched walk away. It is not worth it to fight a goat to be milked.