okay, I'm bummed. Please cheer me up. (PS chickens are fine though)

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by wahmommy, Feb 15, 2011.

1. wahmommy

wahmommy Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 14, 2010
    Okay, so I'm a newbie. I like chickens in general, but one of the real attractions for me was to have the different colored eggs. So when my husband said, let's get chickens they'll be fun family pets and we'll get eggs I thought let's do it. The breeds I originally wanted were Ameraucana and Welsummer, primarily for egg color. I couldn't get them locally (I'm in So Cal) so my only option for getting these breeds was to get hatching eggs from a breeder (intimidating and expensive for a newbie never planning to show them) or buy from a hatchery or a feed store (which I knew were different quality birds but I thought were still the same breed). I made a decision to buy from a feed store in my area, one that special ordered the breeds I wanted from Privett. When I came to pick them up, they told me which ones they were and I took them home.

When I got home after introducing the chicks to my children (3 and 6) about a week into it I found out that the welsummer was not a welsummer and the ameraucana was an EE. Instead both (even though they looked different as chicks) were EEs. So I thought well at least with EEs I have a shot at blue and green eggs, and I would hope they would be different colors. And also if I want more chickens, the coop I got from MyPetChicken is okay for 3-5 chickens, it says it right there in black and white. And my husband just built a run in the only available space we have for a run, so I can get 2 more chickens anyway right?

Nope. Coop is only really big enough for 2 large fowl, and run is the same. But wait, the hens could lay two different colors right? That would give me my easter basket sort of right?