okayy im pretty sure it mite??

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by jackrooster, May 14, 2010.

1. jackrooster

jackrooster Songster

Jan 17, 2010
    Maine
    okayyyy sooo my chicks have stated to go bald and loosing there feather and im pretty sure it is mites! ahhh sooo how do i get rid of them........i no i get poultry dust and rub it on them right??? i should also clean there whole stall to get rid of all the bad shaving that could be carring them........what do i spray all around there to kill the mites ??? bleach ??? do i just spray it everywhere??? anything else i should do???

2. jackrooster

jackrooster Songster

Jan 17, 2010
    Maine
    hellooooooo?

3. janetk

janetk In the Brooder

May 3, 2009
    I'm getting ready to de-mite my chickens. I've never done this before, but I'll tell you what I'm gonna do. I bought some Carbaryl dust for gardens and pets (same as Sevin-generic). My research tells me to hold them (securely) by the feet and sprinkle the powder around the vent, under wings, work it onto breast and back. don't get in the face. I'm cleaning the coop. I'm sprinkling the dust in next boxes, on floor and on their roosts. I am then going to put DE (dietemascous (spelling?) earth) on the floor and roosts. then i'm putting my wood shavings on top. i'm making them a dust bath with sand, de, and the powder in their coop. I'm following up with another dusting in 10 days to hopefully break the cycle of eggs & mites. I read check them weekly, but be cautious powdering them more than every two months after they're gone. If anyone has done this before & knows something different, please comment.

4. newbiechickenowner

newbiechickenowner Songster

Oct 28, 2009
    Georgia, VT