old barn nightmare's

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by duke692008, Apr 13, 2012.

1. duke692008

duke692008 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 9, 2012
    frankfort,Indiana
    so i'm new to the game.but i have this old 100+ year old barn that isn't being used for any purpose so why not turn a room in it into a chicken coop.....well fer one it originally wasn't set up to be a chicken coop it was set up fer livestock,everything is on a slope and creating a nightmare amount of holes to fill.i'm too far in it to give up now so just gotta come up with solutions to the issue's. gotta say it's not gonna be as pretty as i imagined it to be but it will work.(i hope).on the bright side i did order my welsummer cock yesterday he'll be in may 21st.i'm getting really excited!has anyone out thhere had any dumb ideas that they did so i won't feel so bad with coop designs and construction?lol

2. AmCanyonStables

AmCanyonStables Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2009
    American Canyon
    Check out this thread. I was very impressed with this old barn conversion from some time ago, and remembered it when I saw your post.

Our "new" barn and coop!! (not sure this pasted as a link, if not, just put this exact title in the search box.

3. duke692008

Apr 9, 2012
    frankfort,Indiana
    just got through reading and seeing the pics of that barn and house.....i have really found some great encouragement from it and excitement as well.by the way the link worked.thank you fer posting that i really do appreciate it.my barn is about 5 times that size but maybe in a year or 2 i'll be able to show some transformation pics as well.i love hard work its what i do and i do it good so it will be a work in progress i know.just knowing how beautiful something can turn out is very inspirational.again thank you!

4. AmCanyonStables

AmCanyonStables Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2009
    American Canyon