Old hat with chickens, brand new to ducks!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by localife, Mar 13, 2015.

1. localife

localife Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2015
    Hello! I have been raising chickens for many years, but I am brand new to raising ducks (though I have been researching, and lurking here, for quite a long time). On Tuesday I brought home 10 day old Welsh Harlequin ducklings -- 2 male, and 8 female. And may I say, they are HILARIOUS! I have them in a 4'x4' brooder in my living room at the moment (I promised my son they could be in the house for at least a week...), and it's impossible to walk past them without being waylaid by their adorable appearance and crazy behavior. Anyway, my gratitude to all who respond to questions and concerns, and just generally mentor those of us who are flying by the seat of our pants!

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    I bet they are hilarious - I can just picture them waddling around. I understand ducks are much messier than chickens in bowel habits and getting everything soaked from their water bowl. So the cuteness factor comes with a price. They may be out of the living room sooner than you expect.

3. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.

I love the way ducks waddle around. So cute and funny!

I don't know much about raising them so you may want to check out this link
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/42/ducks

4. localife

Mar 13, 2015