Old roo with young pullets?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Banriona, Oct 6, 2013.

1. Banriona

Banriona Chillin' With My Peeps

I currently have five pullets and 1 cockerel that are six weeks old. I recently was gifted a roo that is 16 wks old that is currently in quarantine. Is it safe to introduce him to the girls in just 3 weeks (when the girls are 9ish wks) or will he hurt them? I'm assuming that since they are so young he won't try to breed them. Am I wrong?

Last edited: Oct 6, 2013
  2. Banriona

Anyone?? Just need to know if I should expect more than the pecking order reconfiguring or if I should wait until the younger ones are a little more grown out. I am totally new at this chicken keeping thing and want to make any transitions as smooth as possible.

3. Jrose

Jrose Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2013
    I'm not really that knowledgable about roosters, but I just recently introduced a 3 month old rooster to my 1yr+ girls. He immediately tried to dominate them. I let the girls tussle with him and beat him up a bit first, then stepped in and harassed him myself. Poked him, grabbed at him, chased him around. At one point on that first day he was getting seriously rough so I snatched him up by the ankles and incapacitated him for a minute before letting him go again. I guess I kinda claimed the hens as mine, not his. It took two days for him to settle down and back off, and it was probably 3 weeks before he tried to breed again, and this time the girls were okay with it so I didn't intervene. Don't know if that helps, but I think you can put your own own beak in the pecking order there to help keep the peace!

4. Banriona