Older Ducks?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Ariel301, Jul 11, 2010.

1. Ariel301

Ariel301 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 14, 2009
    Kingman Arizona
    I might be getting several free ducks tomorrow. The lady who has them says they are 4-7 years old. I have not had ducks before, so I'm wondering if that's really old for them? Would it be likely they still are laying at that age, or are they like chickens where after a couple of years they don't lay so well anymore? I'll likely take them no matter what, just wondering whether ducks that old will be useful to keep around (for eggs/raising more ducks to eat) or if they'll be going straight in the freezer.

2. treldib

treldib Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2010
    Southern California
    They can live 15, maybe even 20 years if you keep them healthy. I think they would be laying fine at 4 years but JUST starting to wind down (I'm no expert so take all this with a grain of salt lol).

3. CityChicker

CityChicker Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009
    In my opinion, at that age, they are really in their prime. Mine start to slow down as far as laying once they are 5-6 years old, but can still be quite prolific for a few years beyond that. They still continue to lay sporadically even when they are very old. As far as what very old is, it is really hard to say. I have quite a few ducks that I know for sure are at least 10-12 years old and we very likely have some that are even older, so they can live quite a long time.

4. Red Maple Farms

Red Maple Farms Wish Granted

Feb 25, 2010
    NE Wisconsin
    If you are concerned about economics, then you will find that many commerical duck egg farms really only keep their layers around for two laying cycles at most. Many hens are retired after their first year of laying because they slow down and eat more than they can produce. In that respect they are very much like chickens.