One chick bullying/grabbing the beaks of other chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Kitana724, Mar 25, 2017.

1. Kitana724

Kitana724 Just Hatched

Mar 25, 2017
    Western NY
    Hello. I am a newbie to the world of owning chickens, and recently bought a 24 chicks (8 RIR, 8 GC, 4 BR and 4 BO). Since getting them home from the hatchery (on Thursday 3/23/17), one chick has consistently been grabbing the beaks of other chicks to the point where they yell out. No blood has been drawn, but the chicks crying out has been loud enough to wake me up at night. They generally peck at each others beak (to find food, shavings, etc.) but not like this. This one chick even walks around the sleeping chicks and just grabs their beak.

We have the 24 chicks in a 4'x5' space now, with a divider in to open up the space as they grow. They have a long chick feeder and two waterers. Today I had enough and took the trouble maker out of the brooder and placed her on the other side of the divider (with her own heat lamp, food and water). I'm hoping separation will do the trick, and my husband is prepared to cull her if she doesn't shape up...though I would hate to do that. Quite a dramatic entrance into the world of chicken owning...

Any thoughts as to how to manage this problem chick, and how long I should keep her separate?

Any feedback is much appreciated. It's hard to hear her crying out in the basement [​IMG] (as you can see, I haven't developed a hardened shell for owning farm animals, not pets)

2. DwayneNLiz

DwayneNLiz ...lost... Premium Member

Jun 18, 2013
    NH
    they will grow out of it and establish their 'pecking' order
    are you using a heat lamp?
    you could try using a brooder plate or a ceramic heat emitter that way night-time is dark and more natural and they will be more quiet
    or you could make a mama heating pad (MHP)
    Mama Heating Pad in the Brooder (Picture Heavy) - UPDATE

Good Luck and WELCOME TO BYC!!!!!
    [​IMG]