One Chick is Left Out?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ChickenFanatic447, Aug 4, 2011.

1. ChickenFanatic447

ChickenFanatic447 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2011
    Oregon
    When I take my chicks outside in the sun to sit around in the grass the other chicks always travel in a group, but for some reason my one Welsummer never seems to leave my side or move at all from where I place her. Should I be concerned? She isn't foraging or developing some skills that I think the other ones are by sticking together and exploring the yard. I'm just worried about my babies, this is my first time raising chickens so if this sounds silly then please refrain from any rude answers.

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    I wouldn't worry too much. Personalities differ a lot even among birds of the same breed, so some are more comfortable being on their own than others.

3. ChickenFanatic447

Jul 30, 2011
    Oregon
    Oh okay, I was just worried, thank you.

4. BarnGoddess01

BarnGoddess01 I [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]

I have 3 timid EEs in my most recent hatch. They have barely left the coop in the 3 weeks since the door has been opened and they have the option. And if they do leave the coop, they haven't ventured more than 10 feet OR out into the open. Nervous nellies! The other 9 young ones are tearing all over the place!

5. 5parrots&zoo

5parrots&zoo Out Of The Brooder

Jul 10, 2011
    Maybe she is at the bottom of the pecking order? My little Ameracauna is that one of my little group, and she is more stand-offish from the rest of the girls. The 5 other girls stick together, and Sunflower tends to stick much closer to me whenever I go into the chicken yard. Because of that, she is my favorite.

6. ChickenFanatic447

Jul 30, 2011
    Oregon
    Hmm.. Okay, thank you guys. It is nice to know nothing is wrong with her, I get worried easily with these kinds of things.