One chick with very slow growth?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by FirewifeJess, Apr 13, 2012.

1. FirewifeJess

FirewifeJess Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2012
    Gallifrey
    Hi everyone, I'm really new to this so bear with me.
    I have some questions as I'm a bit concerned with 2 of my 2 week old chicks. They appear to be very healthy chicks; they eat, they drink, they sleep a lot. But they're SO little compared to the rest of the 2 week olds! In fact, I just got 3 more 1 week olds and they're the same size. Why aren't the 2 older ones growing like the rest? One in particular is just tiny. She's a Buff Orpington and I have 3 other Buffs as well; the other 3 are huge and awkward and ugly because they're starting to feather out like crazy, and this little one is still a cute little ball of fluff with tiny wing feathers (the others have full wings now) and nothing else but down feathers. Anyone have any insight? It doesn't appear they are being bullied in any way, so I think they're eating enough and I know their vents are clear. Thanks!
    Here's a 2 weeker:
    [​IMG]
    Here's the *runt?*
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
  2. nicolets

nicolets Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2010
    Monroe County, PA
    They could just be a runt...

3. FirewifeJess

Mar 2, 2012
    Gallifrey
    bump!

4. FirewifeJess

Mar 2, 2012
    Gallifrey
    bump again, really searching for some help here! Today I went to the feed store and got some water supplement to mix up, along with some probiotics to sprinkle on their food. I'm hoping this will help but if anyone has more suggestions I'm willing to listen to anything! I just don't want my sweet little girl to die without getting help if possible.

5. featheredroots

featheredroots Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2011
    Madisonville, KY