One chicken consistently keeps getting lost from the others

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Patterson Farmer, Sep 22, 2017.

1. Patterson Farmer

Patterson Farmer Out Of The Brooder

Aug 1, 2017
    This is my first time raising chickens. They hatched on Aug.1st, so almost 2 months ago. They've been in their outdoor coop since week 4 which I know is early but the temps were good and they've been so happy. I waited a little over a week before letting them out of their run to free-range. I have 11 chickens (not sure yet how many are hens/roos). My husband and I both work from home so they free range from sunrise till sundown and we live on 74 acres so they have all the space in the world.

Sometimes I hear a chicken squacking really loudly, enough for me to take notice and investigate, then I find that s/he has lost the rest of the group. I help them reunite then go about what I was doing. But this morning it occured to me that it's happened at least 5 times (that I'm aware of..prob happens more often) and that it's always been the same chicken. Is this a pecking-order thing or could it be that s/he has a health issue? I was sitting out on the deck watching closely and at one point the whole flock started to run in one direction and s/he followed and eventually caught up but pretty much trailed behind. What might be going on? I remember that a few days after having been letting them out of their coop this particular chicken one morning had a hard time finding the door to get out...it kept walking behind the door rather than in front of it and I had to crawl in there and spook it in the right direction. I just thought it was stupid at the time but now I'm putting all the pieces of this puzzle together and it's always this same damn bird! I haven't had any problems yet and I really don't want one of my birds to be sick or injured. Is it possible this particular chicken is just dumb as dirt?

Thanks in advance for any insight.