One Man's Tiring Search for Coop Perfection

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by darbycrash, Sep 14, 2012.

1. darbycrash

darbycrash New Egg

Sep 14, 2012
    I've been on the internet for who knows how long, trying to find something of use to me, but I'm rather new at all of this fowl stuff, so I'm having a hard time finding a certain coop that'd be perfect for me and the fam. Essentially, I'm asking one of you kind members to do all the searching work for me, because it's late, I'm tired, and would love some help.

We live in upstate New York, where it gets rather cold in the winters, and were looking to start a small operation next spring. Six chickens for the wife, and four or five ducks for myself. Initially, the plan was to put the chickens and the ducks in one big coop, but I've heard quite horrible things about doing that. The two fowls don't really "mesh," I guess. So, we're looking to raise both birds for eggs, and I've been looking at buying some khaki campbell ducklings next spring for myself, and the wife's looking for a dozen rhode island reds. Open to suggestions on both those topics.