One more ventilation question. How much humidity is too much?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Linn Bee, Dec 9, 2011.

1. Linn Bee

Linn Bee Chillin' With My Peeps

Hum-m-m-m. I don't know if I've ever seen what level of humidity was safe. I would take out my humidity gauge out to the coop, but aside from the true moisture level I don't know what I'd learn. Guess I'll ask the old timers where the humidity should be.

Okay! How much humidity is too much? I know the ratio of bird to vent. I don't know what level of humidity would be dangerous at what temperature. Is there a 'magic number' for humidity or is it just add more ventilation?

Love, Linn B (aka Smart Red) Gardening zone 5a - 4b in south-est, central-est Wisconsin

2. Wynette

Wynette Moderator Staff Member

Sep 25, 2007
    Michigan
    In my opinion, and I'm no expert, the more ventilation, the better. THe damper it is, the more likely of respiratory issues cropping up. I had chronic sneezing the first year I had chickens in one coop. The more I researched on it, the conclusion I came to was that it was too tight - not enough ventilation. I began only latching the bottom of 3 latches that hold the door tightly closed, so the door gaps open at the top. A month after doing this, I noticed NO sneezing going on. Since then (that was several years ago), I never latch the door completely, and have had no further issues.

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

In the winter time, the cold air simply is drier. Cold air cannot hold as much humidity as warm air can. Our relative humidity drops down to 25% ambient here, with regularity in Dec-Feb. My guess is that once the air flow begins to come from Alberta, as it does in the upper midwest, in the winter, your's will be quite similar.