One of my chickens is dying!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by mudwoman, Aug 16, 2013.

1. mudwoman

mudwoman Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2013
    Cathlamet, WA
    I'm a newbie. I've only had this flock 3 months. After 2 months, one of our chickens just disaperaed. We live in a VERY rural area, I thought an Eagle, Osprey or Cayote took her. She magically appeared yesterday, in the coop, in a nesting box. She was sitting backwards and had pooped in there. Poop looked fine, she looked awful. No feathers on her underside. She could barely walk when I picked her up and set her down. I just left her alone for the night. I figured, SHE'S HOME...ALL WILL BE FINE. FOOD, WATER, BACK WITH HER FAMILY.
    This morning she drank a few drops of sugar water, but was not interested in any food offered. I had to leave for a few hours. Just got home and she is still in the box. I picked her up and her head just fell foward and her eyes rolled back, her feet are curled up. I set her back in the box, and came running to this site.

I don't think there is a single thing I can do, she seems to far gone.

Should I leave her in the coop? I worry about the rest of the flock. I don't know if she was lost and found her way home to die, I just thought she accidentally found her way home.

So, leave her to suffer? Put her in a shady place to die? HELP

2. redstar14

redstar14 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2013
    She was probaly attacked by a predator and survived she might be in shock

3. mudwoman

May 26, 2013
    Cathlamet, WA
    That migjt have been the case yesterday. But, right now I KNOW with most certainty, she is dying. I dont know what to do with her. I'm pretty sure I can not do anything for her.

4. ten chicks

ten chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2013
    MB,Canada