One of my chickens is pulling another ones neck feathers out...

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by susanah, Jan 12, 2010.

1. susanah

susanah Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2009
    They are 10 months old and have all been raised together. Don't know if this is relevant or not but they quit laying about a month ago. Thought maybe they were molting because of all the feathers laying around recently...now just wondering if they were yanked out. ps...I'm new at this. : )

2. chickerdoodle

chickerdoodle Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 21, 2009
    Oregon
    I am no expert but I do remember reading head and neck feathers are one of the first to go when molting. So could be just molting.
    The question is are they too young or is it not the right season for a molt at this time of year? [​IMG]
    I also read roosters sometimes rip out the hen's neck feathers when mating (in a addition to back feathers getting raked up).
    Any wounds seen with this as well or just feathers falling out?
    Are they all happy and healthy otherwise?
    What are you feeding them?

3. Andi

Andi Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm in my first year of chickens also. Molting is a possibility. The first thing I'd look for is if the one that is missing feathers from her neck is for any injuries. I've read that chickens will continue to peck at them. The second thing that came to mind is if they are getting all the nutrients they need. I recall reading that feather plucking could mean either a calcium or protein deficiency. Sorry, but I don't recall which it was for sure. I hope its just a molting. Best of luck!

4. susanah

susanah Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2009
    I guess my post wasn't clear. We actually saw the chicken yanking out the other chickens neck feathers. Didn't know if the molting had anything to do with the behaviour...if they are indeed molting.

5. jebelious

jebelious Out Of The Brooder

Jan 12, 2010
    UK - Midlands