One of my pullets stopped laying.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by dltc96, Aug 26, 2010.

1. dltc96

dltc96 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 26, 2010
    Colorado
    I'm not sure what's going on with her. She was laying fine for a couple of weeks; now she has stopped. She seems to be fine and healthy. There is no sign of inflammation, and she is acting pretty normal. But, she acts like she is laying. She uses the nesting box, scratches around and rearranges the straw, and sings when she is done (or sometimes before). Her bones are still spaced properly for egg laying and she seems to be keeping on a great schedule (she fakes us out about an hour later each day). She also still squats when we reach for her.
    What could be the problem?
    All of my other pullets are doing just fine (except for one that never started laying).
    Any help?

Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  2. LedgeWoods

LedgeWoods Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2010
    Midwest
    I'm no expert by any means...but had one pullet do the same thing to me last week. Took her 9 days to start laying again. She laid for 4 days straight now right on schedule. Full moon, planet alignment, seismic activity???? [​IMG]

3. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    If your pullet is a new layer, at first, they can be pretty sporatic (irregular) with their egglaying. I don't think I would worry about that. Now, could it be possible that something might be stealing your eggs? Say a snake? Or a rat? Or a neighbor? LOL You just never know.

4. dltc96

Aug 26, 2010
    Colorado
    Thanks for the comments.