One year old Toulouse geese .... cautions or issues I should look for?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by Gator113, Sep 14, 2010.

1. Gator113

Gator113 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 25, 2009
    Port Angeles, Washington
    Hi folks,

I started with chickens a year ago. I bought 6 Muscovies last Friday. Now I am looking for Geese. I am new to almost everything all at once. LOL

I believe I want one or two couples of Toulouse geese. I set out to find some this morning and lucked out. A guy about 90 miles from me has five that he wants to sell, for $20 each.

I am waiting on photos before I bother to take the trip.

I would greatly appreciate any info on what I should look for in these birds to determine their quality and health. I've never seen one of these up close, so unless it has 4 legs, I wouldn't know what's normal. Is buying a 1 year old bird a problem? He says they hadn't coupled yet... how can I tell when I see them?

Anything else I should be cautious about?

I would like to head his way within the hour, otherwise I'll need to wait until tomorrow.

Thank you...

Dan

Last edited: Sep 14, 2010
  2. Gator113

Apr 25, 2009
    Port Angeles, Washington
    Here are some of the pic's the guy sent to me. I thought they might be helpful in evaluating these guys and gals. ANY comments would be greatly appreciated..

http://akrh.org/geese/dsc_0287.jpg

http://akrh.org/geese/dsc_0284.jpg

http://akrh.org/geese/dsc_0283.jpg

http://akrh.org/geese/dsc_0286.jpg

He told me that the lighter ones would darken as they got a bit older... will that happen?

Can you tell me what breed or combination of breeds they may be? They were advertised as Toulouse and a couple of crested Chinese.

The solid white birds are all female and THEY are about 2 years old, the others are 1 year old.

If I chose one of the solid whites, will it couple with a darker one that is a slightly different breed?

Thank you for any help.

Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
  3. Gator113

Apr 25, 2009