Online Hatcheries - Comments?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Myfriendconnie, Oct 28, 2010.

1. Myfriendconnie

Myfriendconnie New Egg

Oct 22, 2010
    This spring, we're planning on getting Easter Eggers, Australorps, Andalusians, and Silkies from www.efowl.com , and Marans and Welsummers from www.mypetchicken.com .

Has anyone ordered these from these hatcheries before? I've read that Marans and Welsummers from hatcheries don't lay very dark eggs, but I've also read that MyPetChicken is a very good hatchery. What are your opinions?

2. Tdub4chiks

Tdub4chiks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 8, 2010
    Constantia, NY
    I ordered 4 RIR girls from MPC & received them when they were 3 days old. I rec'd 4 healthy birds and they are 19 wks old now. I thought for sure I had a rooster, but they all turned out to be girls. Since 2 are much lighter than the other 2, I think I have 2 production reds. I am new to chickens, so I really don't care that they are not heritage RIRs, as long as they are healthy and happy, that's all I care about.

I would recommend them.

3. Baralak

Baralak Chillin' With My Peeps

I have NO experience except from what I have read here about eFoul.. but I buy all my chicks from My Pet Chicken (MPC). Friendly, folks, and got JUST what I ordered, no additional roos.

4. Myfriendconnie

Myfriendconnie New Egg

Oct 22, 2010
    I was kind of wondering about the egg color of the Marans and Welsummers from MyPetChicken. Do they sell good quailty ones that lay dark eggs?

5. nomonewbies

nomonewbies New Egg

Oct 5, 2010
    We ordered 25 BO's from E-fowl. All arrived a couple weeks later - all healthy - even asked that we e-mail them as soon as we received them to make sure they were OK. Nice folks, good chicks. I would recommend them Highly.

Hugh

6. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA