Only one chick hatched - 3 days late - what to do?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by sian, Nov 18, 2009.

1. sian

sian Out Of The Brooder

Nov 17, 2009
    Purcellville VA
    Hi, I'm new to the forum and new to incubating. I incubated 24 eggs (12 Andalusians and 12 Golden Lakenvelders). They were due to hatch on Saturday but my hubby came running out to the barn to tell me the incubator was up to 102 . I turned it down but I thought I cooked them as no-one hatched. I was about to write myself off as a bad mom, throw the eggs out and not make the same mistake again yesterday, but I forgot. Tonight one of them is trying to hatch - but I'm wondering if I should let it keep going - what if it is an only chick? I guess I can tuck it in my bra for a few weeks, but then what?

We have a horse farm with 5 hens and 2 roos - they free range and boss the horses and dogs around, and I've never tried to hatch eggs before. The roos are silkies, plus 2 silkie hens, the others are Andalusian, Black Spanish and a Silver Lakenvelder. The Silkies would maybe adopt it, if it survives.

Any ideas? I feel like a total dummy/ heel about this:(

The last thing I expected was to have only one chick.

Last edited: Nov 18, 2009
  2. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

If you have a still air incubator, meaning no fan 102 is a good temp. If you have a fan 99.5 is ideal, but 102 still won't be enough to kill. Did you open the eggs or candle them to ensure they were really gone?

For a single chick, often a stuffed animal or feather duster keeps them calm and you can raise up up alone just fine.

Good luck and welcome!

3. MIKE555444

MIKE555444 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2009
    Pliny, West Virgina
    I bet you have been a little low on temps so your hatch is coming late.....

Don't give up... just give them some more time and see... what can it hurt

Maybe you will get suprised [​IMG]