only one left!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by nat2009, May 10, 2007.

1. nat2009

nat2009 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 10, 2007
    I hatched 4 eggs and only one is still living. I think it is kinda and learning exsperience since this is the first time I ever did this. Ok i have her in a box withe a light some food and water with a thermometer. I there any thing else i should be doing? The thermometer is on 92-94 degrees is that ok? It will not eat by itself though is that normal it is not even a day old.

2. nat2009

Apr 10, 2007
    Please Help me!

3. webdawg

webdawg Out Of The Brooder

May 4, 2007
    Kingman, Az
    I'm not a chick expert, but I'd say the temp, food and water is good. As far as when they start eating......have you stuck it's beek in the food and water yet? Maybe it's still eating off what it was born with.

4. Critter Crazy

Critter Crazy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2007
    Binghamton, NY
    Sometimes it takes anywheres form 24-48hours for a chick to eat anything. To make the chick less lonely, you can place a small stuffed animal in for her to cuddle with. Just keep a good eye on her.

5. nat2009

Apr 10, 2007
    I have thought that too but iam just so scared about it dying because all the others did. We have been putting food in its mouth and making it drink so maybe it will be ok! The stuffed animal idea is a good idea! I'll do it![​IMG]

6. AccidentalFarm

AccidentalFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2007
    Chicks get nourishment for upto 72 hours from the absorbed yolk. If it is just hatched today, I wouldn't think it is going to starve. Keeping fluids in the baby is good. Sprinkle some starter around on the brooder floor (you do have the chick on paper towels, right?) so the chick can see it.
    Does it appear to drink when you dip its beak into the water? I think some people add a little sugar to the water if the chick is weak, but I do not know how much. Maybe someone else can answer that.