Open or Closed coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by hagadorn6, Sep 18, 2009.

1. hagadorn6

hagadorn6 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 17, 2009
    Hello
    I'm totally new to this chicken thing, my husband just brought 3 chickens home on the spur of the moment. I built a small coop and put wire around it for a pen.

Does the coop need to be totally closed with a solid door or is it okay to keep a door that has wire on it?

Do I need to put a light bulb in the coop for heat?

Do the chickens need a smaller box inside of the coop that they can climb into to keep warm?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated

Thanks
    JeSs

2. possumqueen

possumqueen Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2009
    Monroe, North Carolina
    Welcome!! Welcome!![​IMG]

Where are you, first of all? Open coop or closed coop depends on what the weather is like where you live, especially in winter.

Go to the coop section and check out all the designs. There are TONS of them!! Then go to the coop section in the forum and spend -- oh -- the next year or so there -- oops, you have chickens already, and it's September.

Well, take your time about it anyway. Build it the best you know how. The chickens won't care what it looks like as long as it's draft free and dry. You won't need to worry about looks as long as it's easy to clean. Your neighbors -- well. . . .

Good luck! Keep posting! Learn how to post pics of your coop because I'm still building one, and I need all the help I can get!

3. hagadorn6

Sep 17, 2009