Opinion on hatching eggs?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Chick Lover, Feb 28, 2012.

1. Chick Lover

Chick Lover Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2012
    Hi,

I've never tried to sell hatching eggs before...so I'm not sure what pricing would be, or even if people would be interested in mix of breeds. So, could you give me your opinion on price, if people would be interested, etc. Thanks!
    The breeds would be:
    Cuckoo Marans (hens) mixed with Single Comb Brown Leghorn, Black Langshan, Sicilian Buttercup, or Mille Fleur D'Uccle(Roosters)
    Single Comb Brown Leghorn(hens) mixed with Single Comb Brown Leghorn, Black Langshan, Sicilian Buttercup, or Mille Fleur D'Uccle(Roosters)
    Those would be the only hens I would be absolutely positive about

Then, I could just say that the mix might have any one of the breeds I have. Which are:
    Cuckoo Marans, Speckled Sussex, White Giant, Single Comb Brown Leghorn, Black Langshan, Sicilian Buttercup, or Mille Fleur D'Uccle.

I know, there are a lot of variables.....but that's why I want your opinion on it [​IMG]

Thanks for your help!

P.S. I don't want this to be a full time effort, so I can't seperate them to keep track of the eggs, breeding, and such. I'm just trying to earn a little extra money.

2. Den in Penn

Den in Penn Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2011
    SE Pa.
    If I were adding to my flock I would want to add pure breeds. Not trying to be a snob but I like to have some idea of what I'm getting. That said I guess there are some out there who just want to hatch some eggs so a mix will do. So I don't think you could charge as much as you could for a pure line. Someone else will have to give you a guess on what you could get, I don't follow those prices..

Last edited: Feb 28, 2012
  3. Chick Lover

Jan 27, 2012