Optimal coop for 2 Orpingtons?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by saridout, May 11, 2010.

1. saridout

saridout Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2010
    DFW
    hi there [​IMG] i'm very new to chickens, and i have some questions about coops. i plan on getting two orpingtons, probably buff. the space i have for the coop is about 6 X 20, with a small tree in the center, so it's really more like two spaces that are 6 X 10. what would be the best coop for my space and number/size of my birds? the more diminutive the coop, the better, as i'm trying to keep a nervous landlord happy. i've been considering an ark that has a coop on one side and a run on the other, or a two-story ark. is it better to have a larger run area, or a larger coop area? i'm concerned about getting a two-story ark, because it seems like the vertical space would be too cramped for large chickens like orpingtons. any advice?

2. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    It's really hard to say without knowing where you live. What is your climate like?

As for the ark business, if you mean one of those A-frame jobbies, they are really not very chickenfriendly and IMO should be avoided in nearly all circumstances. A rectangular (box-shaped) coop is really quite a lot better; it offers significantly more room for the chickens to actually use, and is mroe easily ventilated, and so forth and so on.

Good luck, have fun, welcome to BYC,

Pat

3. CityChook

CityChook Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2008
    Minneapolis, MN
    My Coop
    I have buff orps too and I live in a northern, cold climate. I gave them significantly more space inside the coop than recommended. Am very glad that I did.

Coops are as varied as the chickens that go into them. Soooo many choices...

Have you checked out the coop design pages? That might be a good spot to check out to see if any of the designs are appealing to you.