Ordering baby chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by jerseygirl1, Dec 2, 2009.

1. jerseygirl1

jerseygirl1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2009
    Orange County, NY
    OK, I am a beginner at this, and I have been getting my chicks from a local breeder, but now that I have all 20 of them, have become somewhat leery of integrating chickens into my newly developed flock. From what I have been reading (and also from experience) it is just not really good to integrate newbies of unknown origin into an existing flock. So, with that, I think I may order chicks from My Pet Chicken in February and raise some day olds.

I am nervous - I do not have an incubator

I don't want to bite off more than I can chew. ALso, if I raise them, they will be friendly, unlike my existing flock, who are quite neurotic from being brooder raised without a mommy.

Is there any one thing you can recommend that I make sure I do faithfully? Heat lamp, place to keep them, etc.
    How long to do they need to be indoors? If I order in Feb/Mar, do they need four weeks to feather out?

Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
  2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    I suggest you read this thread. I'm not sure it answers any of your questions but I think it will help you.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=158038

How friendly they will be will depend partly on the individual personality, partly on the breed, and partly on how much you handle them.

In New York in late winter/early spring I'd probably give them a little longer to feather out. It depends on the breed, the weather, the number of chicks you have so they can huddle and keep warm, and the conditions you keep them in. If you keep them in a well ventilated yet totally draft free brooder in the coop, they can stand colder temperatures than if they are just let loose in an open coop. I certainly cannot give you a hard and fast age.

3. hangin'witthepeeps