1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Ordering Chicks - Mixing Breeds?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by quietlyscheming, Sep 24, 2011.

1. quietlyscheming

quietlyscheming Out Of The Brooder

Sep 12, 2011
    Crosby, TX
    So my coop is nearly complete along with the fence and I'm now looking at ordering chicks. I plan on having a total of 6 hens and no roosters. I do have a few questions though.

1. Can you mix breeds? I'm new to all this and wanted to have a variety of birds before eventually expanding and picking my favorites to stick with. (1 Rhode Island Red, 1 Black Australorp, 1 Speckled Sussex, 1 Barred Rock, 1 Buff Brahma, 1 Ameraucana)

2. Does anyone recommend a site to buy your chicks online? I was thinking of ordering from Meyer Hatchery but would like to hear from anyone who's ordered from them or from other sites.

As always, thanks for the help and feedback! [​IMG]

2. al6517

al6517 Real Men can Cook

May 13, 2008
    If you order from a hatchery you can accomplish two things at once as anything you order will be of mixed breeding at some point and some hatchery breeds are more mixed than others. I like how you got all your stuff set-up and ready to go before getting your stock, so many don't, Kudo's to you. If you want to have several hens of different breeds living together that is perfectly fine and so many do it, yes it would be fine and preferred.

Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  3. wbruder17

wbruder17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2010
    Portland, OR