Ordering Chicks Needs Advice

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Jeevan Singh, Jan 23, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Jeevan Singh

Jeevan Singh In the Brooder

Jan 23, 2018
    Hello everyone, I am completely new at ordering poultry. I have my heart set on ordering chicks from IdealPoultry. I’m only ordering 8, but I’m tormented about them putting in extra males for warmth. So I’m not going to select that option. My question is will ordering 8 chicks be safe in May traveling from Texas to California? What causes chicks to die after ordering them and even keeping them at home?

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener Crossing the Road

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE zone 4B
    Some companies have a 15 chick minimum after April 1. Your best bet is to call the company you want to do business with and ask them what their policy is.

MrsMistyReal likes this.
  3. Latestarter

Latestarter Free Ranging

Mar 18, 2014
    North East Texas
    Greetings and welcome to BYC. Glad you joined. Congrats on your about to start chicken adventure! If you don't want the extras, order by phone and make sure that they don't include any. Whether they'll be safe depends on where you are in CA. Mountains? Coast? North/South? Early/late May? Location makes a huge difference too. (that being said, please put your location in your profile. Old folks like me will never remember your first post :old)

Chicks are packed with a (water) gel pack so they can drink in shipment. They can normally survive for 3-5 days with no problem during shipment. They can and do die for any number of reasons. The shipment could get delayed or "lost". It might sit overnight in a truck in a cold location like the mountains during travel. The hatcheries can't do physicals on every chick they ship and some are just not healthy internally and fail to thrive or die during or right after shipping. They can get injured during shipping.