1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Ordering chicks online?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by CaitlinAnd, Feb 2, 2017.

1. CaitlinAnd

CaitlinAnd New Egg

Jan 29, 2017
    I'm very new to this and was looking up where I could get black australorps and found that you are able to order day old chicks, has anyone done this? I'm scared they will be hurt or killed in the process...I'm not sure how it all works and could use a little insight on what exactly happens when you order them online

2. orrpeople

orrpeople Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2016
    Redding, CA
    Chicks ordered to be sent by mail through online retailers (generally through hatcheries, although there are some wonderful small farms who also ship chicks) generally fare quite well. The post office has been doing this since - well at least since my grandparents' would order them in the 1920's for their North Dakota farm! Shipping charges can vary greatly from seller to seller, as well as minimum chick orders. But, the basic premise is that chicks have about a three day period after hatch where they don't need to eat or drink, so they are sent at 1 day old.
    I think a very large percentage of BYC members have received chicks via mail, and quite a few have also shipped them!
    mypetchicken.com has some great info on their site about the whole process. I'm not advocating for them, I just really loved reading their information when I was somewhat new to chicken ownership.

3. CaitlinAnd

CaitlinAnd New Egg

Jan 29, 2017
    that's is actually the site that I had found that sparked the question! Thank you so much, my next question is, will I be picking them up at the post office or will they be delivered to my home?

4. orrpeople

Jun 15, 2016
    Redding, CA