1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

ordering new chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by poultryman84, Mar 3, 2015.

1. poultryman84

poultryman84 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2014
    Quincy IL
    Hey everyone,

I am going to order some chicks and had a couple questions. Hopefully you all can help me as I'm new to all this. I have a 12x12 coop already built and in the process of putting a 6x6 brooding box in my garage. I will also be adding 12x30 run to my coop this spring. I'm thinking about ordering about 26-30 chicks from Mcmurray hatchery. My first question is do I have enough room in the coop and in my brooder box for this many? Second question is if my garage gets down to 35/40 at night will the chicks be ok with just a 250w red heat lamp? Lastly I want to order kind of a mixed bag of chickens will they all get along ok? Here is a list of what I'm thinking:

1. BARRED ROCK
    2. NEW HAMPSHIRES
    3. SILVER LACED WYANDOTTE

4. DOMINIQUES
    5. CUCKOO MARAN
    6. BUFF MINORCA
    7. RHODE ISLAND RED
    8. Welsummer
    9. ARAUCANA/AMERAUCANA
    10. BLUE ANDALUSIANS
    11. DELAWARE
    12. SILVER LEGHORN
    13. COLUMBIAN WYANDOTTE

I'm wanting to get 2 females of each. The Welsummers are straight run so may end up with a rooster or 2 if I order.

My last question is if I pick up a couple more chicks at my local farm store that are with in a week of the same age would they be ok?

Sorry for all the questions but thank you for all the help.

2. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT