1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Organic chick starter food or not?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by 4kids*2dogs, Feb 21, 2011.

1. 4kids*2dogs

4kids*2dogs Out Of The Brooder

Feb 15, 2011
    Maine
    My first chick order comes March 31. Should i pay more for the organic feed? Does Organic Feed affect the chicks poopiness or overall health? What about the feed for the chickens when they are older? I plan to give them lots of treats when they are older and I don't expect those will be organic. We don't need the eggs to be completely organic either. Does the type of feed affect the eggs in any way, such as taste or production?

I am a newbie!

Last edited: Feb 21, 2011
  2. superchemicalgirl

superchemicalgirl HEN PECKED

Jan 10, 2010
    Vacationland, Maine
    First, welcome to BYC.

Your question is one that only YOU can answer.

I'll tell you why *I* didn't choose organic:
    1. Everything else they'll eat isn't "organic" (especially not that styrofoam insulation they found and quickly devoured)
    2. The organic label to me doesn't really mean that much - there are all kinds of weird rules... and the product might not be what YOU think it is based upon the labeling.

I fed my chicks a game bird starter from Blue Seal that has 22% protein. All of my chicks have survived (although it's only 50 some) on it and they look gorgeous. I switch them to turkey grower at 20% protein when they're older.

The type of feed will affect egg taste a bit... but you most likely won't be able to tell.