Organic Chickens

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chocobroc, Jul 20, 2010.

1. Chocobroc

Chocobroc Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 13, 2010
    Eastern, NC
    What makes a chicken (well, their eggs actually) organic? If they are vaccinated will they not be considered organic? Do they have to be feed completely organic feed? This may be very stupid questions but I'm a newbie and I'm still learning. [​IMG]

Thanks in advanced for all the feedback...

2. KentuckyChick

KentuckyChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2010
    Central Kentucky
    I'm going to bump this for you. I don't have the answer, but maybe someone else will!

3. le neige homme

le neige homme Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2010
    Quote:It's not as easy as it should be to find these answers. I do have them buried somewhere around here.

Try ccof.org and http://www.attra.ncat.org/attra-pub/PDF/organicpoultry.pdf

Neither
    of these sites is all that easy to navigate. I don't know why they don't just have a big link that says "click here to read all about the requirements". The best way to decipher CCOF's information is to actually download the application.

Basically, livestock needs to be raised organically from Day 1 or Day 2 (?). Vaccinations are okay. Yes, completely organic feed is required, with a few allowances for exceptions in certain cases.

4. Quail_Antwerp

Quail_Antwerp [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]Mrs

Aug 16, 2008
    Ohio
    I guess it depends on what you mean by Organic. Do you mean the FDA Approved, Stamped, and Certified Organic - or do you mean as "God intended all natural"?

FDA approved means you follow their guidelines and the standards they set to be certifiably organic. I do not believe this is true organic, it's just government approved.

Here's an idea of how we raise all our animals (not just our chickens):
    ~ we do not use chemicals or pesticides on our farm