Organic Free Range Advice Needed

INDovey

In the Brooder
6 Years
Mar 13, 2013
I am new to raising chickens and would like to raise my laying hens strictly Organic Free Range. We have a 36 acre farm with about 20 acres that will be open for free ranging and a 2000 sq. ft barn. I plan to have about 8 hens to start and wondered how you know if they are getting enough to eat. We will be using a protected run field rotation method that will include pasture, as well as areas of the barn that need to have horse manure processed for compost. We will also set up a garden run cage system so that they can forage between the garden plants.

I also plan to plant a garden that will be used completely for feeding the chickens fresh veggies, but not sure how much of what I should be planting just for the hens. I can plant grain corn in open rows around the fences if needed to provide enough food for the hens, but need advice on what to plant for a balance diet and how to know if they are getting enough to eat. We are also considering setting up a meal worm box to make sure they are getting enough protein. Although these will not be family pets, I will not own an animal that is not provided with a happy lifestyle, so just want to make sure I am doing all that I can for them.

Hi INDovey! Welcome to BYC!