Orphan Calve wont take bottle

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by chickenbuttsowhat, Oct 24, 2011.

1. chickenbuttsowhat

chickenbuttsowhat Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2011
    Danville, Arkansas
    We just had a calve born few days ago and its mother past away this morning we found the calf all by itself out in the field we grabbed it up and brought it to the house i bottle fed a calve before but this calve wont take the bottle can anyone help the calve has some fight in it and doesnt look bad its nose is a lil dry i dont know if thats bad or not i really dont know much about cows but im slowly learning does anyone have tips on how to get it to take the bottle

2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Smear some honey onto the nipple.......The sweetness will get him started sometimes.....

3. codymax2

codymax2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 7, 2010
    Liverpool, NY
    I'm not an expert but I know you can get tubing equipment to tube her till she gets stronger, is she up and about or not feeling good?

4. Chickann

Chickann Out Of The Brooder

Aug 10, 2011
    Warren, Ontario
    Is it up and about? When you stick a finger in it's mouth will it suck on your finger? Since its been on the mom a few days, it might just not be inclined to have the rubber nipple in its mouth. If its not suffering from any underlying condition, once it gets good and hungry it *should* drink. You can also try after putting the nipple in its mouth (even notch the nipple a tad so the milk leaks out and it gets a taste) to rub underneath its jaw, that sometimes stimulates the stubborn little cuss to suck. Are you feeding replacer or real milk? Worst comes to worst and it doesnt drink by tomorrow and you don't want to lose it to dyhydration you can call your vet to show you how to tube feed it until it perks up a bit.