Orpie Pullet Sneezing and Wheezing

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Crazy4Orpingtons, Oct 5, 2011.

1. Crazy4Orpingtons

Crazy4Orpingtons New Egg

Oct 5, 2011
    Anyone help me here? Gratefully received!

I am a new novice owner with three Orpington pullets - approx 21-24 weeks. One of them (a Splash) has started to sneeze a couple of days ago, and today sounds wheezy. Her breathing is sometimes laboured. But she is eating and drinking well. Approx 8 days ago I introduced three new bantams to my little flock and also put some straw in the coop to keep them warmer at night. Do you think this could be the cause? She was fine until I added the straw. I have taken it out today.
    Any help, advice or tips really gratefully received.
    Thanks. [​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]

2. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

[​IMG]
    http://shagbarkbantams.com/contents.htm
    click on "my chicken has a cold, part I, II, and III"
    incubation periods are discussed which might help you

On the other hand, sneezing and wheezing can also be environmental. Dust, ammonia levels in the coop, and other things may be the cause. When you open the coop in the morning, do you smell ammonia? If so, then the bedding needs more care. This can be very hard on their respiratory passages. Do you use cedar chips? They are irritating.

Here is a link if you believe it to be a disease:

http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps044
    diagnosis charts at bottom

Edited to add: I just reread your post and realized that the straw was added. Ok, if it was moldy then that might cause it or very dusty. I'd separate her if possible and see if she is better tomorrow.

Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  3. Crazy4Orpingtons

Crazy4Orpingtons New Egg

Oct 5, 2011
    Hi
    Thankyou so much for coming back to me so quickly! I really appreciate your help and your time.