and any other "ya can do better here or there"

Please be blunt!
smile.png
that way I don't have to decode your
trying to be nice! lol

Thanks in advance

8696_bo_roo.jpg

Last edited:
i like that bird!!! lol im new to this . my wife love the way the buffs look she wants some.

I don't know much about breeding Orpingtons
but it looks like you should try and breed out the black in the tail

Quote:
Agreed.

Just pull the black feathers out
lau.gif

No, seriously-I know nothing about orps, but look forward to seeing what some orp ppl have to say.
smile.png

For me, I would cull him and raise another roo.

The black tail feather says it all for me. You also want him to be short in the back length.

Look on Hinkjc's website at her buff orp roosters.

I have been debating if I wanted to critique this rooster or not, mostly because of the time I knew I would put into thinking about this perty boy. I personally find buff the most difficult color to breed. It presents many challenges, the most common is the inconsistency of the buff tone throughout the bird. The red wing bar is something I avoid if possible. Black and White feathers in the tail are not terrible. It is worse if its in the neck and wings in my opinion, as well as the underfluff. The main color you want to avoid is white. Black can be worked with. Although your end goal is to produce consistent buff color throughout all parts of the bird, including right down the entire feather shaft.