Orpington Chicks (My 1st time with chickens)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by dermerchickens, Feb 27, 2014.

1. dermerchickens

dermerchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 27, 2014
    Culpeper, Va
    I am getting a mail order of Orpington Chicks, this is my first time with chickens/chick. I am ordering 10, but am only keeping 6 due to housing, so I will eventually sell some.

I was just wondering what I need? (I want ONLY the absolutely have to have, no extras that are good to have, just have to have)

Does anyone have any tips or anything about them? I am getting them mail order, straight run from Mypetchicken.com
    They get shipped at 1 day old, and everything else you guys probably know, so I need to stop blabering on so you can actually read and answer!

-Emma

2. dermerchickens

Feb 27, 2014
    Culpeper, Va
    Anyone? Basic chick care?

3. red horse ranch

red horse ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2014
    Buffalo Wyoming
    You need a brooder. This can be just a large cardboard box. Old towels will work for bedding. Newspaper is too slick for chicks.
    You need a heat lamp to keep the temperature in the box at 95 degrees the first week. If they are inside your house 60 watt bulbs will work. In a cooler area you will need a 250 watt bulb. Reduce the heat 5 degrees each week.
    You need chick starter and a feeder.
    It's good to start them out with vitamins/electrolites in their water.
    You need a waterer. They are inexpensive at feed stores.
    You need to protect them from cats, dogs and kids.
    You'll have more questions once you get them so feel free to ask![​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  4. farnorth

farnorth Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2013
    Upper Michigan