Orpington Color Genetics

Discussion in 'Exhibition, Genetics, & Breeding to the SOP' started by LilyD, Jul 10, 2019 at 1:31 PM.

1. LilyD

LilyD Crowing

Jan 24, 2011
    Bristol, VT
    My Coop
    Okay so I have 7 babies that hatched out that are out of two separate breeding pens one was marked as Lone Oaks Crele the other one was English Crele
    [​IMG]
    Lone Oak Crele Roo
    [​IMG]
    Roo and Hens
    [​IMG]
    English Crele Roo
    [​IMG]

English Crele Hen

DSC_0887.JPG
    DSC_0886.JPG DSC_0885.JPG DSC_0884.JPG DSC_0883.JPG
    These are the babies I got from both batches of eggs.

My questions is based off the parents what can I expect to need to work on or towards to get a better Crele Orp through breeding? Anything I should avoid? I got the eggs shipped from the breeder who owns the parent birds.

2. ColtHandorf

ColtHandorf Songster

Feb 19, 2019
    Commerce, Texas
    I'm no expert on the Barred/Cuckoo/Crele Orpingtons or their genes. @The Moonshiner and @nicalandia will probably be more help here. But the 1st rooster appears to be Buff or Lemon Cuckoo/Barred not Crele. This also seems evident by the differences in chicks hatched from both groups, although If I remember correctly my Crele Penedsencas were sex-able as day-old chicks. So there should be some variation.

In fact, looking again, I don't think any of the Lone Oak birds are Crele...

3. LilyD

LilyD Crowing

Jan 24, 2011
    Bristol, VT
    My Coop