OSB ok to use for inner walls of coop? Inner coop wall ideas?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by noahsmom, Jan 31, 2013.

1. noahsmom

noahsmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2013
    North Eastern, Ky
    As you can see from the pictures below the exising walls of our coop are flimsy and not so strong. I believe we need to fully cover them with something. Would OSB be ok for this purpose? Also, I know OSB sitting right on the ground will more than likely make it's life usage not last so long, is their something I can do so it won't have to sit right on the ground? I thought of something weird and I am not good at coming up with great ideas when it comes to any sort of building plans but could I go around the bottom with buried concrete blocks, run an apron of wire under the blocks across the floor from block-block with dirt over top the wire and then set each piece of OSB on these concrete blocks and attach them to the existing frame? Does that sound weird or make sense?
    Any other ideas?

What would you personally do to these walls to make the inside of your coop predator proof? Some parts of the wall is pretty thin, I could very easily hit it not so hard with a hammer and it would go through, so something needs to be done for their warmth and safety.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 31, 2013
  2. Jakoda

Jakoda Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2012
    Old Lyme CT
    if your wanting to save money, it might be some work, but how about just collecting "free pallets" and use the pieces of wood to basically insulate the inside of what you have? Look under the Coop sections there are some unbelieveably nice coops made from just the wood of pallets..It's free wood, and not OSB so would probably last longer as well. Just a crazy idea to:)
    Diane

3. noahsmom

noahsmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2013
    North Eastern, Ky

Diane,