other chickens laying in nest with broody hen

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by grandmahen, Apr 20, 2009.

1. grandmahen

grandmahen New Egg

Apr 20, 2009
    Our great chicken adventure started last year so I am still a newbie in thie way to do things. We have five Ameraucunas and one Silky in the same pen. We have two nests but they all lay in the same nest. Sometimes it's one nest and sometimes it's the other, but now there's a problem. The Silky has gone broody but the others squeeze into the nest with her to lay instead of going in the other one. I have some fertilized eggs on order so she can hatch, but I don't know how to separate her out. If I build her a new nest will she go in it? I'm thinking I also need to build her a new coop to keep her and her babies, should they hatch, away from the big girls. Also, we have two new chicks that were given to us. They are still in the house in the closet because they are just getting their feathers. They can't live in the closet forever, so how do I put them in the pen, too?

2. patyrdz

patyrdz The Madd Hatcher

Feb 26, 2009
    Southern Pines, NC
    The silkie will have to be moved to a place all by herself. I would do it at night so you do not disturb her too much. As far as the chicks go, it depends on how old they are. If it is really cold out, they need to be fully feathered to stay outside.[​IMG]

3. Chickenmaven

Chickenmaven Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 6, 2009
    Michigan
    I would not put the 2 babies in with the broody. If you could seperate her within your coop, perhaps with a large dog crate, that might work.