Ouch! What a peck

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by henrietta101, Nov 16, 2011.

1. henrietta101

henrietta101 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 8, 2011
    I am new to chickens and have pullets roughly at 12 weeks. When I hand feed 3 of them ouch does it hurt. They peck like mad. I get the kids to put a little food in a cup as it was hurting them. Is this something to do with as they get older? Or is it that they are REALLY HUNGRY!!! I have been wondernig if i am giving them enough.

2. CupOJoe42

CupOJoe42 CT Chicken Whisperer

Apr 11, 2011
    I have a few that are hard peckers also. Some even like to peck and twist at the same time - OUCH! Of course, nothing hurts like getting pecked in the eye (yes, it happened last week!) When I get pecked hard, I sometimes try to grab their beak and hold it closed for a couple of seconds with a stern "NO." Or I push the culprit away and let the others eat first. Don't know if it helps, I'm new at this.

3. Ole rooster

Ole rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 25, 2011
    Milner, Georgia
    I know what you mean. I feed my little flock meal worms and one of the BO's does not want to come around front and share in the fight with the other hens. She goes around behind me and pecks me in the back to let me know she's there. At first I thought that was cute, but now her beak is sharper and she pecks harder. Needless to say I don't wear a tee shirt anymore. Also while she's pecking she sing a little tune too. I guess the tune is suppose to keep my response calm. [​IMG]

4. Ukiah

Ukiah Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 15, 2011
    AL
    I have some who HURT when being fed out of my hand, then others who are

as gentle as they can be. I think it's just an individual chicken thing. Some peck
    harder than others. That's how my flock is, anyways. I even have them memorized
    by who pecks hard and who don't xD I have some like dobieslady1, too. Peck and
    twist [​IMG] THAT'S what hurts.

5. mcjessen