Our Beginner Chicken Mansion!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by afangel2005, Jul 1, 2016.

1. afangel2005

afangel2005 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 25, 2016
    Panama City, FL
    Hello All!

I wanted to share some pictures of our coop/run that was built by me, my husband, and son, complete and total novices to building anything!

The total cost for this was around $1,500. However, we used all brand new wood and had to buy tools, like a saw. We were on a rush to get it done (chickens don't stop growing!) and we didn't take the time to shop around for materials. We bought the actual coop from Chicken Saloon. It is the "Rambler", which is rated to fit 6-10 chicken. Although it seems to be good quality, I would not want my 5 chickens cooped up in the small space that this coop has.

Due to running behind on building our coop, we did have to shut our chickens up in this coop at night time for several weeks. However, once we got the run built, and could leave the coop door open at night, our chickens prefer to sleep on top of the coop. For several nights we would go out and move them from the top of the coop to inside the coop, but we finally gave up. They've been sleeping on top ever since.

We purchased the Garden Coop plans, but some of the building/instructions was over our heads (again, complete beginners!), and we wanted to expand and make it much longer. So we decided to make our own design loosely based on those plans. It was really trial and error. And a lot of advice from the people at Lowes.

We started making panels for the run, 3 ft X 6 ft, with the intent to make in modular if we ever have to take it down. After doing one side that way, we just framed the rest of it out without doing "individual" panels.