Our New Coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by kmoranjr1, Mar 25, 2009.

1. kmoranjr1

kmoranjr1 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 9, 2009
    e. wareham, ma.
    These are some pictures of my new coop , actually its a older coop that I aquired and rehabbed. Any tips or suggestions would be helpful for this is my first attempt at raising chickens. My family loves the fresh eggs and we also have a large garden that needs fertilizer.

[​IMG]
    This picture shows the coop after I replaced the roof and patched a few rotted spots on the sidewalls. so far I have not spent any money on the coop. The materials were all scrounged up at various construction sites in the area.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The coop originally had six nestboxes inside, I felt Iwould not need that many. So they were removed and a new set of three was built on the back of the coop with a trapdoor. Thats so I can get my wife to collect the eggs , Idont think she wants to go inside.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

These pictures show the nestoxes from the inside and the perch area. The perch is on hinges so it can be tilted up out of the way to make cleaning a bit easier. Dimensions are 3x5 by about 5 ft high and there are 3 three foot perches staggered approx. 10 inches apart. We have 8 chicks coming in 2 weeks so hopefully this will be large enough for them.(There will be a large covered run for them also)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Here is the new front door and pophole ramp. I have a 2x2.5 window and the eaves are also open, would this be enough ventilation? The coop is also insulated with 2x4 construction.

[​IMG]

This is the coop after my boy and I spent a day painting. also we installed a door on the pophole to keep out any hungry critters.

Thanks for looking at my post. Comments/tips/advice would be very welcome. I will post more when the chicks arrive and the run is being built

Alll openings are covered with hardware cloth, and there is a lockable sliding door on the pophole