our new flock!

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by valibby, Sep 17, 2010.

1. valibby

valibby Out Of The Brooder

Sep 17, 2010
    Nanaimo
    Excited newbie here!

They just approved backyard chickens in my city about 6 months ago. After our initial excitement, we decided it was probably best to wait till after our baby was born to start a big new project. BabyBoy is 4.5 months old now, so when we saw a pre-built coop come up on craigslist last weekend we jumped on it (we are not carpenters... YET). Then we stalked craigslist for chickens. Our bylaw allows 4, but we have three adults and three kids, and that didn't quite seem enough, so we're sneaking a few more in and will give our neighbours eggs now and then.

Today we went out and got two (over-priced, I'm sure) Ameraucana-Araucana cross hens, two Buff Orpingtons, and two Rhode Island Reds. The A-As are pullets and from a separate flock, so it's already clearly where they are in the pecking order and I'm already thinking of building them their own little chicken tractor. My daughter has claimed them as hers because she has long said "I was thinking to get TWO chickens," so when we went to pick those ones up first she assumed they were hers. She has named them Leaf and Keasha. The other 4 don't have names yet, but I'm mulling over some.