owls?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by roocrazy, Dec 13, 2010.

1. roocrazy

roocrazy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2009
    minnesota!!!!
    would they eat a whole goose?

2. goosedragon

goosedragon Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009
    Central NC
    Quote:Not at one sitting, even I couldn't eat a whole goose, but once it is dead what does it matter?

3. gg61501

gg61501 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 14, 2010
    Katy TX
    I'm no wildlife expert, but I imagine it would be tough for an owl to take down a goose...unless it's a very small goose/gosling. A mature goose is much bigger than most owls -- so I'd think a smart owl would tend to not mess with them.

But hey -- it wouldn't be the first time I was wrong today. [​IMG]

4. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    A female Great Horned Owl is fully capable of killing a mature turkey or goose. In the name of safety, they prefer smaller prey, but will tackle larger if hungry enough. Because they could not lift such a large prey animal, they will eat at the kill site, returning until all is eaten.

5. destiny_56085

destiny_56085 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2009
    Sleepy Eye, MN