Oyster shell?

Littlefoot1106

In the Brooder
May 10, 2018
Any recommendations on brand of oyster shell? I'm assuming there are different qualities between brands but i don't know much about it. Also is grit necessary for free range birds? I've got them on scratch and peck layer feed, the shop i got it from says that it is a high quality feed, hopefully they are correct.:confused: I'm a newbie to chickens! :D Thanks for the help!

I only have one choice of oyster shell where I live.... So no idea about comparisons.

As to grit... free ranging birds in spring/summer/fall do fine without store bought grit. It wouldn't hurt to offer it... might help.

When the ground freezes up in the winter offering store bought grit can help them grind up and fully utilize their feed.

Oyster shell is oyster shell, far as I can tell.

As far as grit, without knowing your location and your specific soil type, the answer could be yes, maybe or no. Do you have rocks in your chickens' environment of appropriate size and hardness? Ideally it would be granite approximately the size of small peas. If the answer is "no" or "not sure" there is no reason not to spend a few dollars and buy grit which you can either throw down or serve in a small container. Especially for a whole grain food, they need grit to get maximum nutrition out of it.

I'm using Purina brand Oyster Shells in 5# bags, $5.99 at TSC.
Chickens eat as needed.
I recently bought Manna Pro brand, 25# for $9.99 at TSC. I haven't offered it to the hens yet, but I opened the bag and it looks Ok, same size as the Purina brand. But it's a mixture of Oyster Shells and Coral Calcium. Purina is just Oyster Shells. Calcium is slightly lower with the Manna Pro, 33/38%, Purina, 36/41%.

Granite Grit is cheap if you get the Manna Pro brand in the 25# bag $8.99 at TSC. DuMOR brand 5# $6.99.
Get the Chick Grit 5# bag for Chicks. Offer it from 2 to 7 weeks, then mix in the larger size Poultry Grit after 7 weeks.
20180507_091125.jpg