Oyster Shell

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by nakstk, Nov 30, 2011.

1. nakstk

nakstk Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 19, 2011
    Kalama, Washington
    My SS chickens are 20.5 weeks they have yet to lay an egg. They are on layer crumble now. If and when do I add oyster shell to their diet? If I add it too soon will they get egg bound?

2. erinszoo

erinszoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2011
    North Central Oklahoma
    We added oyster shell after our first bird started laying at 23 weeks. Never have had one egg bound.

3. nakstk

Sep 19, 2011
    Kalama, Washington
    Is it necessary to add to their diet? and what about grit?

4. clickncluck

clickncluck Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2011
    Kahaluu on Oahu
    I have speckled sussex hens. One started laying at 20.5 weeks, the other at 23 weeks. I give them oyster shell mixed in with their grit, but if I understand correctly (and I'm a newbie) layer feed has the calcium in it so it isn't really necessary.
    If your girls' faces are red and they are squatting for you, it won't be much longer :)

5. SilverMoon

SilverMoon Out Of The Brooder

I believe oyster shells how ever added are used to strengthen the shells of the eggs when they begin to start laying. I guess it makes it harder rather than thin to the point they cant hold up nicely. We are fairly knew ourselves to chicken raising ourselves.

6. nakstk

Sep 19, 2011
    Kalama, Washington
    Quote:That's what we have Speckled Sussex and they are 20.5 weeks. 2 out of 5 are squatting I am having a hard time waiting. I am so excited to get my first egg.

7. trooper

trooper Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    Staunton,Va