1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Padding for concrete floor

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by tyndall, Apr 2, 2012.

1. tyndall

tyndall Out Of The Brooder

Apr 1, 2012
    We've just about finished our coop inside the barn. Since the floor is concrete I plan on putting down wall to wall vinyl but not adhering it. ( I might even put underlayment too.) I'm thinking if the fit is correct I won't need even trim to keep it down and I'm doing this because I may need to remove it for cleaning - or if it just does not work out. Then I'll use about 2" of shavings on top. Have any of you ever tried this? I'm new to chickens so I'm really, really clueless about everything and anything to do with these 6 little 1 week old sweet Silkie chicks waiting in a plastic swimming pool in my basement. And, since Silkies don't roost very high I'm wondering how high to put the roost. Also, I'm planning on making the roost out of a wood dowel rod. Do I seal it with anything for cleaning purposes or is there another rod that would be better? My last question is what to use as a poop tray under the rod?

2. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    Save on vinyl. Concrete cleans easy enough for that once a year hose down. I'd use the vinyl for top of poop board for easy scraping/cleaning.

Just my 2 cents.

3. tyndall

Apr 1, 2012