Pain medication for tumor removal

TundraFang

Songster
Jul 31, 2021
United States
A friend of mine has a guardian dog with a large mass on her leg. She's pretty old and we suspect she has cancer. The mass on her leg is getting really big and it's starting to make walking difficult. It's attached to the skin and seems easy enough to remove but I was wondering what sort of pain medication I should use. What should I use to numb the area? Anything I should give her afterwards? I know is she has cancer this won't cure her but removing the mass will make her more comfortable and she's not in any pain right now. A vet is not an option, they're booked for this month and closed for the holidays afterwards. I have some experience with similar procedures on chickens but never a dog. Any advice would be helpful.

Please do not try to remove this tumor at home. Masses and tumors often have very large blood supplies and vessels, and just cutting into it could cause her to bleed out extremely fast.

You won't be able to stop the bleeding or control it in a home environment. You also run the risk of introducing bacteria and causing an infection without a sterile environment.

Please find a vet. I know you mentioned a wait, but please please hold out for the vet. It is not worth the pain and trauma of trying to do a major surgery at home. It is also not fair to the dog to put her through something like this without an experienced veterinarian.